Now Reading: A Track-By-Track Review of Panic! At The Disco’s “Pray For The Wicked”


A Track-By-Track Review of Panic! At The Disco’s “Pray For The Wicked”

June 23, 20186 min read

On June 22nd, the rock band Panic! At The Disco, consisting of only frontman Brendon Urie, released their sixth studio album, “Pray For The Wicked”. It is not a secret that Panic! are known to change their sound a lot, but with this album we can still see some prominent influences from their previous album, “Death Of A Bachelor”.

1. (Fuck A) Silver Lining

This song, alongside the next one, was released with the announcement of the album on March 22nd. With a fast paced melody and distinguishable trumpets, this song talks about wanting to dismiss any boundaries set, in other worlds, fuck a silver lining, and trying to succeed at everything. This song is the first of few songs in the album that

2. Say Amen (Saturday Night)

In an interview, Brendon described this song as being his way of trying to reconcile his career as well as the vestiges of his Mormon upbringing. With an incredible high note at the end and a theory about the song’s music video being a prequel to the trilogy of music videos completed by the music video for “This Is Gospel” and “Emperor’s New Clothes“, this, so far, the most talked about song from the album.

3. Hey Look Ma, I Made It

Continuing with the theme of success, this song is Brendon’s celebration of his success with his music career, something his parents were doubtful about in the beginning, scared their son would end up a starving artist. This song is backed with strong synths and drums, giving it a groovy feel, similar to (Fuck A) Silver Lining.

4. High Hopes

Again following the success theme, this song gives the listener a sense of hope. With upbeat instrumentals and cheerful trumpets, it makes you want to jump out of your seat and just sing the song as loud as you can. And, close to the end of the song, where all other sounds go and it’s only Brendon’s vocals and the percussion, it gives you the same feeling you get during a song like “We Will Rock You” by Queen, where you want to stomp your feet to the beat. This is surely the most feel good song on the album.

5. Roaring 20s

If you’re not a super fan, you might mistake this song to be one from older years because with this song, Brendon brought back the theatrical vibes of older albums. With marching band-like drums, an intro with Charleston vibes and a the final chorus having the same flow as a Broadway song to which dancers kick in unison, this song is definitely the one with the most character on the album.

6. Dancing’s Not A Crime

Just as the title states, dancing’s not a crime, especially to this song. This is the type of song to score a slot in a try not to dance/move challenge. Alongside being the most fun song on the album, it has some soulful hints that give the song a significant flavor not present in the others.

7. One of the Drunks

While listening to this song, one thing that came to mind was Imagine Dragons’ newest song, it has the same feel as Imagine Dragons’ latest content do. So, when you mix that with the vibes and theme of Panic!’s previous album, “Death Of A Bachelor”, you get this song, One of the Drunks.

8. The Overpass

Slightly similar to the Charleston vibes of “Roaring 20s”, this song sounds like what you would get if The Great Gatsby went rock. This song too, feels like an older Panic! song with it’s theater vibes.

9. King of the Clouds

This song starts off similar to “Death of A Bachelor”‘s “The Good, The Bad And The Dirty”. It describes ideas from the theory of multiverses and the travel into them. Hence, the music follows that mysterious setting.

10. Old Fashioned

This one easily reminds of Panic!’s “House of Memories” from “Death of A Bachelor”, a trait that is observed throughout the whole album. In this song, Brendon reminisces about his teenage years and how it was the best years of his life, filled with drinking.

11. Dying in LA

Just like the last song on “Death of a Bachelor”, “Impossible Year”, the album ends on a ballad. Starting only with a piano and then progressing into a bunch of violins the instrumentals of this song are perfect. As for the lyrics, Brendon speaks up out the hardships of being a celebrity and while also expressing his admiration towards the City of Angels.


All in all, “Pray for the Wicked” did not fail to amaze, especially when keeping in mind that Brendon Urie, singlehandedly writes, composes and plays all the instruments on all of the songs, something that is rare in the industry today.

How do you vote?

0 People voted this article. 0 Upvotes - 0 Downvotes.