Now Reading: New Music From SZA, D.R.A.M, Daniel Caesar, 6LACK and Jhené Aiko All Dropped in the Same Day


New Music From SZA, D.R.A.M, Daniel Caesar, 6LACK and Jhené Aiko All Dropped in the Same Day

June 9, 20174 min read

It’s a beautiful thing when artists drop music within the same time span, but when multiple artists do it within one night, it’s overwhelming yet exciting to have your ears blessed with new sounds. Last night, just that happened.

D.R.A.M released two new singles that night that detail what he does in the night in terms of love. “The Uber Song” is about, plain and simple, the use of the app to get his baby a “$20-something ride” to his crib. In the same theme, you can probably figure out what “Group Thang (DEMO)” is about.


The “Get You” singer that stole our hearts and ears with his smooth R&B single featuring Kali Uchis is back again proving he’s got more music in store. Daniel Caesar premiered two new singles on Beats 1 Radio Thursday afternoon with Carl Chery and Ebro on their show. As you can predict, the songs are ballads about lost love and finding love, and a love so consuming that at times it’s unhealthy and they can’t be by themselves. Plug in your earphones and get lost in his voice yet again.

Jhené Aiko has been working on finishing her newest project TRIP 17 that is set to release “as soon as possible.” For now, while wait on the follow-up to her 2014 album Souled Out, you can listen to her single “While We’re Young,” which details carefree love and being in the moment. The music video for the song was also released Thursday, and the best thing about is that it’s inspired by the movie “50 First Dates.”

6LACK, which also released a steamy single earlier this year with Jhené Aiko, dropped a new single as well. Since his debut album FREE 6LACK (2016),”That Far” is the newest piece of music we’ve heard from 6LACK. The song details how you can’t be “wasting your breath on somebody else” when it comes to success because you won’t make it “that far.”

Lastly, but not least, SZA finally dropped her debut album Ctrl. Ever since rumors of a release date in February started to circulate, fans and myself have been waiting on this. The release date was originally set for June 9th, but the album came out a bit earlier Thursday night. The singles SZA released from the album were “Love Galore” featuring Houston rapper Travis Scott, “Drew Barrymore,” “Broken Clocks” and just yesterday released “Doves in the Wind” featuring Kendrick Lamar. The album is 14-tracks, making up for the wait, and along with the album, a merch line is supposed to release as well. Even with the new album, SZA keeps hinting at something more to fans on Twitter asking about tracks that they thought they would be on the album.

Whatever it is, I’m excited for it. While we wait to see just what she means, listen to her debut album now.

How do you vote?

0 People voted this article. 0 Upvotes - 0 Downvotes.

December 5, 2017By Molly Cuddy

You may like