Now Reading: Dua Lipa Made History at the BRIT Awards


Dua Lipa Made History at the BRIT Awards

January 13, 20183 min read

Nominations for the 2018 BRIT Awards were announced on Jan. 13 through an elaborate night of performances from the likes of Liam Payne and Paloma Faith. The BRITs is one of the biggest nights in British music, with the awards holding up great significance.

The night saw singer Dua Lipa receive five nominations; she is up for British Breakthrough Artist, Best Album and Best British Female. Her breakthrough hit “New Rules” is also a contender for Best Video and Best Single. She received the most nominations of the night and is the first woman in history to get that many nominations in one year.

Ed Sheeran followed behind with four nominations, which is unsurprising, considering his global takeover, when he released his latest album Divide last March. Rag’N’Bone Man and J Hus have both received three nominations. The artists with the highest number of nominations for the awards are all relatively new on the scene, and it shows a lot of promise and excitement for the future of British music.

The entire list of nominations:

British Male Solo Artist

  • Ed Sheeran
  • Liam Gallagher
  • Stormzy
  • Loyle Carner
  • Rag’N’Bone Man

British Female Solo Artist

  • Dua Lipa
  • Jessie Ware
  • Kate Tempest
  • Laura Marling
  • Paloma Faith

British Group

  • Gorrilaz
  • London Grammar
  • Royal Blood
  • The xx
  • Wolf Alice

International Group

  • Arcade Fire
  • Foo Fighters
  • Haim
  • The Killers
  • LCD Soundsystem

International Female Solo Artist

  • Lorde
  • Pink
  • Alicia Keys
  • Taylor Swift
  • Björk

International Male Solo Artist

  • Beck
  • Childish Gambino
  • DJ Khaled
  • Drake
  • Kendrick Lamar

MasterCard British Album of The Year

  • Dua Lipa – ‘Dua Lipa’
  • Ed Sheeran – ‘÷’
  • J Hus – ‘Common Sense’
  • Rag’N’Bone Man – ‘Human’
  • Stormy – ‘Gang Signs & Prayer’

British Single

  • Calvin Harris ft Pharrell / Katy Perry / Big Sean – ‘Feels’
  • Clean Bandit ft Zara Larsson – ‘Symphony’
  • Dua Lipa – ‘New Rules’
  • Ed Sheeran – ‘Shape of You’
  • J Hus – ‘Did You See’
  • Jax Jones ft Raye – ‘You Don’t Know Me’
  • Jonas Blue ft William Singe – ‘Mama’
  • Liam Payne ft Quavo – ‘Strip That Down’
  • Little Mix – ‘Touch’
  • Rag ‘N’ Bone Man – ‘Human’

British Breakthrough Act

  • Dave
  • Dua Lipa
  • J Huse
  • Loyle Carner
  • Sampha

British Artist Video of The Year

  • Anne-Marie – Ciao Adios
  • Calvin Harris ft Pharrell / Katy Perry / Big Sean – Feels
  • Clean Bandit ft Zara Larsson – Symphony
  • Dua Lipa – New Rules
  • Ed Sheeran – Shape of you
  • Harry Styles – Sign of the Times
  • Jax Jones ft Raye – You Don’t Know Me
  • Liam Payne ft Quavo – Strip That Down
  • Little Mix – Touch
  • ZAYN and Taylor Swift – I Don’t Wanna Live Forever

The last two categories are fan-voted and information on how to do so can be found on the BRIT Award website.

How do you vote?

0 People voted this article. 0 Upvotes - 0 Downvotes.

Samantha Lutes

London based 17 year old that loves everything to do with music and pop culture